The Commission on the Laity:


a) Shall study and promote a more effective Apostolate of the Laity in accordance with the pronouncement and spirit of the Second Vatican Council by employing the services of the Council of the Laity Philippines (CLP) to animate and facilitate, coordinate and integrate, all forms of lay Catholic action and activity of all the Lay Apostolic Movements, Associations and Organizations.

b) Shall assist in establishing Pastoral Councils, in fomenting and coordinating their apostolic works in the provincial, regional and/or national level, particularly in the formation of Basic Ecclesial Communities (BEC) as formally enjoined by the Second Plenary Council of the Philippines.

c) Shall maintain, supervise and direct the National Secretariat of the Council of the Laity, and through this Body assist in nurturing close relationship and adequate communication with all duly recognized international lay organizations.

The Catholic Bishops' Conference of the Philippines

The Official Website of

CBCP Online





Bp. Broderick S. Pabillo


Abp. Angel N. Lagdameo


Bp. Victor C. Ocampo

Abp. Ramon C. Arguelles

Bp. Nereo P. Odchimar

Executive Secretary

Mrs. Zenaida F. Capistrano

Executive Secretary

Commission on the Laity

Address:   CLP Headquarters Bldg.

                372 Cabildo Street, Intramuros

                1002 Manila


Tel.         : (02) 527-5388

Fax         : (02) 527-3124

e-mail     :


website :